President’s Message

Raghu L Motaganahalli, MD RPVI FRCS FACS DFSVS
2021-2022 President, Midwestern Vascular Surgical Society
Division Chief of Vascular Surgery
Professor of Surgery & Program Director
Indiana University School of Medicine

Raghu Motaganahalli

Dear Members and Colleagues,

It is a great honor and a privilege for me to serve you as the 44th President of the Midwestern Vascular Surgical Society. I want to thank all the members for entrusting me with this responsibility.

It is hard to imagine it has been three months since we met in person at the 45th Annual Meeting in Chicago. I was truly delighted to see most of you after a gap of two years.  I want to take this opportunity to thank our Immediate Past President, Dr. Kellie Brown, for her Presidential Address and for leading the organization during these difficult times of the pandemic.

The program could not have been successful without an active participation from all of you.  Our recent meeting in Chicago offered something for everyone. The Program Committee led by its Chair and current President-Elect, Dr. Jeffrey Jim, showcased excellent scientific presentations from trainees and members from across the region.

We were audience to another great session of the New Horizons program crafted by Dr. Robert Cuff and committee members Dr. Peter Rossi, Dr. John Rectenwald and Dr. Gregory Kasper. The Society had the privilege of hosting the 20th Surgeon General, Dr. Jerome Adams, as the Honorary Guest Lecture.  Our most popular residents’ Mock Oral examinations program was once again oversubscribed.   Our thanks to Dr. Andrew Hoel and Dr. Brian Lewis, and the entire Mock Orals Committee for offering this examination in a virtual format. Despite the pandemic challenges, our Medical Student Education Committee led by Dr. Jonathan Bath and Dr. Senthil Jayarajan conducted a successful program that engaged over 50 Medical Students who represent our future vascular surgeons.

While the pandemic shows no signs of abating, the Executive Council continues to be at work for you.   Our Program Chair and Secretary, Dr. Ross Milner, is planning for a great program agenda and an exciting 46th Annual Meeting to be held in Grand Rapids, Michigan from September 15-17, 2022.   The Meeting will be held at the JW Marriott and DeVos Place. Please stay tuned for more details to come over the next few months. I encourage you to consider submitting an abstract for the Annual Meeting.   The Educational Outreach Committee led by Drs. Patrick Muck, Rachel Nicholson Judith Lin, Andrew Hoel and Carlos Bechara has an ambitious agenda to offer our New Horizons webinar series throughout the next year. These webinars will focus on important and controversial topics. Additionally, our Simulation Program, under the leadership of Dr. Todd Vogel and Dr. Chris Goltz will return to an in-person format at next year’s Annual Meeting.

Our Society has been at the national forefront in leading the diversity, equity, and inclusion efforts. At the recent Executive Council meeting, we took the next steps to formally create a DEI Ad-Hoc Committee under the leadership of Dr. Bernadette Aulivola and Dr. Lee Kirksey. The Society intends to implement several new changes to Committee appointments so that every member is engaged and has an opportunity to serve the organization.

Our Society derives its strength from its membership. I welcome all those who are eligible to apply for membership and for those who are already members to continue your support for the organization. We soon plan to initiate a membership drive with the intention of having every practicing vascular surgeon in the Midwest to be an active member of the Society. Whether you are a student, an advanced care provider, resident, fellow or practicing colleague, the Midwestern Vascular Surgical Society is here for you. You have the opportunity to shape the future of the organization as a member. Please encourage your partners, trainees and colleagues to submit their membership application today. I look forward to meeting you during one of my road trips across the region in 2022.

In January 2022, our Society will be managed by a new management company with Ms. Angela Wetherbee as the Executive Director. On behalf of the Society’s Executive Council and leadership, I want to extend our sincere appreciation and thanks to Ms. Terri Comegys for her dedicated service to the organization for over two decades. We are in a stronger position as a Society due to years of efforts from Terri. We wish Terri a happy retirement.

In closing, I wish to extend my holiday greetings to you and your loved ones. Hope these holidays provide much needed peace, harmony, and joy to all of you.

I once again thank you for this great opportunity to serve you. I welcome your suggestions as we to continue to enhance value for our membership.

Sincerely and best regards,

Raghu L Motaganahalli , MD FRCS FACS DFSVS
2021-2022 President of the Midwestern Vascular Surgical Society